Pleasant shopping

Booths is such a pleasant place in which to shop. It is certainly not the cheapest supermarket - today I bought a few things that I could no doubt have bought cheaper across the road at Morrisons. However, I just feel that the bit extra is like an entrance fee, one I am quite happy to pay for a pleasanter shopping experience.

What makes it so good? I think this photo says a lot. The place is spacious and yet you don’t have to walk miles to find things, as the shelves are so well stocked - not with a row of all the same, but with a huge variety (and people filling the shelves are never in the way - I think it’s done by magic!). The place is spotless and so quiet. It is quiet, not just because there are fewer people, but because there is so much space and also it has a kind of hush about it. Hard to describe, but anyone who has been there will recognise this.

And they have things you don’t find anywhere else. Gordon spends a lot of time at the Cheese counter where the staff are so knowledgeable. I meanwhile wander the aisles looking at things I have never seen before.

And they don’t have self-service checkouts!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.