Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

I was approaching the park when a couple of crows flew from the fence at the park right down the road to meet me. I gave them a biscuit each and they took off back to the park. The little female (pictured) flew over as I entered the park and was joined by the male. who kept his distance. A man passed with his dog and the male took off. I continued feeding the little female when the chick arrived. There was no repeat of yesterday as the little female exerted her authority immediately and chased the chick off to the middle of the path. I fed the two of them without any fuss, the chick was much more subdued today. I then made my way to the clearing where the two males were waiting. I gave them what I had left . When I turned round I saw a line of about 6 crows all eating biscuits I had given them on the way round.
The extra shows how small the chick is as it is not much bigger than the juvenile gull.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.