fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Connect: day two

Quite a nice feature of Connect is that it doesn't really get going until midday, so after a surprisingly good night's sleep in the camper, we had a leisurely morning, which was marred only by the fact there was one place selling coffee and the queue was enormous.

Today, we saw: 

Biig Piig, who was a bit disappointing to be honest. I've played her track 'Feels Right' on my radio show before, and that (for me) was the highlight of the set today. I have to say that she's a lively and great performer but it just didn't grab me.

Kelly Lee Owens, on the other hand, was fantastic. She manages to play the diva whilst keeping her tongue firmly in cheek. She's an energetic performer, too, and manages to make playing keyboards look as exciting as an electric guitar. The highlight for me was 'Keep Walking'.

The highlight of the day, though, was Young Fathers, who were absolutely banging. They are, without a doubt, the best live act I’ve seen in ages. So much energy and conviction; it was incredible. It was hard to know who to watch at times, and I think I enjoyed pretty much every track, including this: 'I Saw'.

The final act I enjoyed today was Róisín Murphy - once of Moloko - who played some funk-tinged electronica, and who was clearly entirely comfortable being on stage and was also in fine voice. This track will probably give you some idea of her sound: 'Ramalama (Bang Bang)'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.