windychickens

By windychickens

Underwater magic

Elbows and I, and then MightyMouse and DougsJB after their run, went for an early morning swim before the crowds arrived.

It was warm and clear and we were spotting fish straight away. I swam into a shoal of fish that were each longer than my forearm. They were swimming near the surface and it felt magical … and they didn’t seem in a hurry to get away from me either.

Later I saw something on the sandy bottom that I have never ever seen - MightyMouse joined me and we tracked it for over 10 minutes. We’ve since googled it and are pretty sure it was a common (or northern) sea robin. It was quite large and quite ugly and utterly fascinating!! It didn’t swim away from us watching from above either. It almost seemed to be walking along the sand and every now and then extended the most amazing fins like huge fans. (It did make me think that if I was with EmCoops, she’d have had her phone and we could have taken pictures. Ah well.)

The bigger part of the day was about pool games, reading and planning our return to the same waters.

Feeding the family hasn’t been easy here. 2 BBQs so far and one meal out. I needed to provide a normal simple meal but found the cooker isn’t connected to the gas so it was pasta, meats and sauce all prepared in the oven. Felt bizarre. I don’t think the owners of the house cook inside. They BBQ or eat out.

Still love this place. It’s an absolute luxurious gift, thanks to Elbows’ friend Nick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.