Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

Abyssinian gladiolus

A lovely surprise appeared in my border this weekend. I remember planting some various bulbs in the spring and thinking that they hadn’t come up. That isn’t unusual as I don’t think bulbs do too well in my rather soggy ground.
A few weeks ago I noticed big spear like leaves and then suddenly these amazing flowers appeared. There seem to be quite a few and they have a bit of fragrance too.
I soon found them online and they are Gladiolus murielae, named after the wife of Erskine who first imported them from Ethiopia.
Because of their origins it appears that they are rather tender.. so I could risk leaving them in the ground, or carefully lift them to store over winter and replant. Hmmm, not sure about that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.