ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill 'Windlust', Hoek

'Hoek' = 'hook' with a real 'oo' and not Captain Hook.  Means 'corner'.
Windlust was 'born' in 1857.  According to the windmill database website, its axels are due for repair.  Well, I'm glad I was able to shoot it now while it hasn't yet been covered in canvas sheets and scaffolding.  According to the same website, though, it is still very much in operation.

A whole week of sun has been forecast!  Fabulous!  This doesn't mean I'll go hunting everyday.  Despite being the weekend, one of my new colleagues has replied to the email I sent where I inquired about initial procedures.  Of course, I'll have to drop by my new workplace to get to know the what, where, how, who, and when, but I won't be on the payroll till Monday, 11 Sept, again through the employment agency, which means I'll still have some free time this week but certainly not as much as during the holiday.  There might be a nice day-trip mid-week as well, the weather 'there' permitting.

Hoek is one of the small villages in that part of Zeeland ('Zey-landt') I haven't yet familiarized myself with, Zeeuws-Vlaanderen.  The word 'Vlaanderen' says it all as it refers to Flanders, in Belgium.  In fact, the border is just a short drive away, and there's a regular tourist exchange, especially as Brugge and Gent are just around the corner, and prices tend to be more attractive close to the dividing line, which one can cross without noticing.  I took the scenic route going there and the fast lane via the Antwerp motorways coming back.  Zeeuws-Vlaanderen is worth exploring, even though it is as flat as flat can be.

Thankful for a sunny day, a sunny drive, and chores done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.