One Piece At A Time

Those with a long memory may recall that during lockdown I had a little project whereby I took a cheap and cheerful bass and did a few mods to make it a punchier and more playable instrument. It pretty much worked out as I’d hoped and has been my “go to” practice guitar for the past three years.
But I’ve always thought there were a couple of things I could have done better/differently, so I’ve decided to have a go at making another. I’ve spoken to the guys at R&T Music (who will be doing the complicated wiring bits) and I think we’re all agreed on the spec we’re aiming for. My initial idea was deemed a little unworkable but I think I know what direction to go in now.
Like all these things, it comes down to a question of cost - it’s no good taking a £200 guitar and spending £400 on it, only to end up with something that’s worth £300 and finding you could have bought a fully specced new model for £500!!
So I’m looking forward to trawling the internet - mainly eBay, if I’m being honest - to track down what I need. I’m looking for either sale, NOS or hardly used s/h items, and I’ve made a good start with some preowned - but unused - tuning pegs that the various internet forums reckon are an upgrade to the standard items on the bass I intend to use as a starting point for the project. So, just a pickup, bridge, modified pickguard and numerous other bits to go.
Oh, and an actual guitar to start modifying, of course. Weirdly, I might have buy that new as very few seem to turn up for sale secondhand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.