Can You Guess What It Is?

I was sitting looking at the shadows dancing ont the window surrounds this morning and I thought I would see about taking pictures of them.
Then it stared getting a bit 'abstract'.
The 6 shots are over here.

I went to continue making the mugs on the lathe.....things went well - until they didn't.
Sanding and sealing went fine on the first one.
Shaping went fine on the second one and I got half way through hollowing it out ..... and the entire chuck and wood came off the lathe!
Luckily I was standing out of the line of fire and amazingly there was no damage done to anything - including the mug! (miracles do happen).
Time was spent dismantling, cleaning and reassembling the chuck and trying to work out what happened. No joy on that front.
Once it was all done and put back on the lathe I resumed the hollowing.
I was just about done ... and it did it again!
This time the mug did not remain unscathed (although I did).
I still cannot work out why it came off and am thinking for my own safety I may have to thing about purchasing a new chuck.

There was a spot of Monster watching this afternoon with a bit of 'Grandad Taxi' thrown in to get Squirrel to and from her martial arts training. She was at a big competition on Saturday and came away with 3 medals --- so, Well Done Squirrel..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.