Frontier

By Frontier

The International Party: Y2K Edition

Jagged Edge - Where The Party At?

Had a really great time DJing with Keigo (the Small World resident DJ, pictured) at the Y2K edition of the International Party. Always an “Up for it” crowd having a good time with songs from the 2000s era. Can you believe it?

I was so excited to get asked to do this genre because it was what I was jamming to back when I was in university. I channelled those days when I was at the clubs with friends dancing to rnb and house and going off. It was at around this time when my desire was at peak levels to be a DJ.

I would go to shops and stare/study at the CDJS and mixers to try and imagine what it would be like to DJ at a club and mixing the right songs. It was a lot harder then because YouTube wasn’t a thing and I was too shy to approach DJs to learn from them. Despite my father being a professional singer who worked with the best people in the industry working the regular wedding, bar and performance circuits we didn’t know any DJs personally. So I had to study myself.

I’m now where I am thanks to the amazing organisers, club managers and friends who believed in me. Throwing down songs from back in the day, I was reminiscing deeply about the good times I had with the best people. You know a lot about someone when you see them dance.

Tonight was also a special night because my wife could make it! I made sure she got songs she liked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.