turning

Jess and I went up into the forest this morning as the forecast was for thundery rain later. It was hot and very humid, but everywhere there are signs that autumn is coming, like a heavy dew and these beautiful spider webs festooning the grass and trees. I'm wondering if I might squeeze in a last mow of the grass later on this week..

The humidity meant that all the forest scents were amplified on the warm breeze. It was a lovely walk and unusually, we met some friends and stopped for a chat. I took Jess down to the river to cool off afterwards and she had a swim.

The rest of the day has been spent in the garden, moving piles of logs from the woods to store under cover (the last from Storm Arwen two years ago) and cutting back foliage. I also cleared away all the pots and stuff from the greenhouse and planted some indoor hyacinth bulbs. Definitely end-of-summer tasks..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.