proutydwarflife

By proutydwarf

Strictly Boring....

Today was all about 'The Tower'....

...A 20 minute walk followed by about 20 minutes stressing out, trying to discover how the hell to get into the tower with a mobility scooter....then re-mortgaging my house to pay the entry fee, we made it in....and went straight into the Tower Circus....to see the famous clowns Mooky & Boo.

It was a real trip down memory lane for me....because more than 35 years ago, in the very same circus, I came to see world famous clown Charlie Cairoli. It was particularly memorable, even all these years later, because during his performance Charlie came into the audience, clambered over to where I was sitting, picked me up and put me on his knee. He was famous for playing musical instruments, in particular a trombone and accordion....I played his accordion :)

So how weird was it when during todays performance Mooky the clown picked Sam, out of the hundreds of children that were watching, to come over to, have a chat with and have some of his popcorn....!! :D

The 2 hour circus performance was awesome, Mooky and Boo were hilarious, there were acrobats and trapeze artists, some of the stunts were incredible....I had to look away on many occasions, it was real heart in mouth stuff....

It was far too expensive (for the 6 of us) to pay the extortionate entry fees to see the other tower attractions so we went up onto one of the balconies above the Tower Ballroom. The ballroom was packed with couples, young and old, dancing to the evocative swirling music emanating from the huge Wurlitzer organ.

I found it incredibly life affirming, particularly to see so many older people, well into their 70's and 80's, having an such an obviously wonderful time as they waltzed and tango'd around the amazing room....changing partners, laughing, singing, swinging....

I could have stayed for hours but my kids attention wasn't captured for very long, however, for a precious few moments Ruby, Jess and Meg sat quietly and patiently watching something very beautiful.

I truly hope that when I am gone and they are old, they will still have such a joy for life....

xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.