Cottonopolis

By milltownlass

Vintage Threads

My daughter and her friend wanted to go into town today, so I took them then made myself scarce while they shopped around. Killing time in our small town is quite difficult on a Sunday, as lots of shops are closed. The flea market was on though.

I wandered around the stalls and on the last stretch, one of the stalls had a box of these old bobbins on the floor. The colours are beautiful - cactus blue, orange lily, old rose, etc. As soon as I saw them I thought of my Mum.

Mum didn't particularly enjoy dressmaking, but when I was a small child, she did make clothes for herself, me and very occasionally my brothers. At that time, I think that dressmaking was a more affordable alternative than it is now. I certainly remember that compared to some of my primary school classmates, I was very well dressed!

The stallholder told me that the bobbins had been in her mother's sewing box. Well, now they are in mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.