Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Bottleneck

I am experimenting with something new (for me at least). I quite often crop my blips to a 1:1 aspect ratio. For one thing, it maximises size and detail on the Blipfoto page format. But I have never really used a native square format while actually shooting pictures. 

For countless years, photographers who worked with 2.25 inch square film (e.g. Bronica, Rolleiflex, Hasselblad medium format) had to THINK "square" natively when approaching photographic composition. At first, 1:1 seems restrictive but the long term popularity of "square" suggests that it may offer real advantages. 

My old Lumix Leica (LX100) enables me to shoot 1:1 natively. So I have taken to using it like a sort of mini Hasselblad, to find out if the practice aids my sense of composition .... especially for "still life". Time will tell.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.