Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Every day I travel the same route to work at the same time, and the same back every evening.
In Chatham I encouraged those I passed regularly to acknowledge recognition, and I'm doing the same now in Bedford
So far I've signed-up Mr Fagbreak at the bottom end of Western Street at about 07:30 Mondays – Wednesdays, Mr Elderly jogger in the yellow hi-vis top along the former railway track towards Sandy – he's concentrating on getting breath into his lungs so just raises a hand to my cheery “Morning!”
There are also a couple of young women on bikes traveling in the opposite direction to me. I had thought they might be school-teachers, but I now suspect they are/were college students.

It is because my days are so routinely repetitive that I'm failing to find much in the way of blip-inspiration, but it is now a year since I bought my better bicycle and so it is time for its annual service. Therefore I took an entirely different route home this evening, being the most direct route between my workplace and my bicycle shop, whereupon I discovered the suburban home of Jake and Elwood, complete with Bluesmobile out front.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.