fifi2013

By fifi2013

Strathearn Marathon

The route followed mostly undulating B class roads along the south side of Strathearn including 1500ft of ascent along the 26.2 mile route, therefore a cut off of 4hrs30 at the 18.5 mile water station was in place!! Within the entry info it stated that 'athletes must be able to complete a flat marathon in 5hrs'. So with all of this I had in my head a 4hr run considering my 'flat marathon time is 3hrs 30'.
All my training must have paid off though as I only started to flag after mile 22, but my determination to finish paid off and I crossed the line in a time of 3hrs 25mins and also was placed 3rd overall female finisher!!
I would strongly recommend this race to anyone wanting to try an undulating marathon!
Won't give away any more details, see me to see my grinning from ear to ear!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.