Return to the North

By Viking

A life well lived and loved

Today I went to a funeral at this church. ‘Uncle R’ was in fact actually my aunt’s brother-in-law and so not really an uncle. He was however a man I have known pretty much my whole life.
I sat and listened to the vicar talking about a life well lived. R was 95 years old, he had experienced the depression, the war and everything since. He was born and died in the same village. He met a girl who he was married to for 73 years (only death separates them still). They had one son, two grandsons and three great grandsons. A life well lived and life well loved. I sat and pondered and prayed that this is all we can ask for in life. I also prayed for the man asleep in his sleeping bag in the churchyard. I saw him later being allowed into the pub to wash. The kindness of others perhaps in his terrible life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.