ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Breda Mural 13 -- 'The Comic Order'

It is a modern interpretation of Medieval Italian painter Lorenzetti's 'The Allegory of Good and Bad Government'.  Actually, this isn't painted on a wall but on a ceiling, specifically the outside ceiling of Central Station, Breda.  Moreover, it is huge, with several characters representing various norms and values important for 'Ben Commune', or 'the Common Good'.  Two extras show some of the other figures.  See the two 'buttons' in the main shot?  They're actually two ceiling lights.  The positive values were painted around the ceiling lights.  When they are switched on at night, they 'allegorically' or symbolically 'light up' the various values that can be found in 'good government'.  How relevant is this for the local government and municipality of Breda?  I'm stifling a laugh.

Went to work, worked, went back home.  A good day at work for me.  I don't know about the students but it would appear that I've found my footing.  Even worse, I'm starting to wax really enthusiastic and intend to do a load of preparation starting this coming weekend.  A windmill hunt would be provide a nice break, but the hunt now depends on the weather.  We shall see.

After work, drove to the station to buy train tickets for tomorrow.  Heading to AMS for a nice treat I very, very seldom buy for myself.  Knowing I would prefer to shoot something in AMS tomorrow, I decided to shoot this ceiling mural today.  Totally unplanned, but there are times when things work out.  Had I not shot this, would I have taken a picture at work?  As I have said, I'm doing my best to avoid that.  It is a different place from where I worked last schoolyear.

Very tired, but kitchen duties later in the evening.  Managed a bit of rest before dinner, when I lay in bed reading Pamuk.  As a matter of fact, I even brought Pamuk along with me to work and managed a couple of chapters during various breaks.  That might be saying a lot about Pamuk, but it could also be saying a lot about how I feel at work.  There's a quiet corner in the library and the librarian now knows I'll be visiting often.  Why not socialize in the teachers' room?  What?!?  The Ellaphant should socialize?!?

Thankful for a working day without disappointments.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.