ELLAphant

By Ellaphant

Windmill 'De Witte Molen', Rilland

'The White Mill' was built in 1851 for the purpose of milling grain, but is no longer in use.  Why not just tear it down?  Nope, it's a national monument, a permanent part of the town's history.  While it is no longer being operated, however, the neighbourhood it is located in has been upgraded and cleaned, and the mill together with it, so it now has a decorative function, which will always be better than no function at all.

A quick drive to this mill as the weather was perfect, sunny but cool.  Before the hunt, supermarket errands (it was warm and dry enough to go on foot), some housekeeping, some colouring.  After dinner, kitchen duties, and then some 'loitering' until I finally sat down to do what I had to do for tomorrow.

Right now, I'm not yet finished, and another hour might just do the job, but I won't go to bed too late.  Instead, the idea is to get up early and work some more.  To be clear, only a part of these prep hours are paid for, so I will not overdo.  My contract is rather thin, and I don't have to mind as this also means less obligations, but of course I will exert some effort.  Now that sounds rather reluctant, doesn't it?  I'm smiling even as I'm typing this.  This time last year, I was... but forget that.  Over and done, so I'd better focus on the present.

Thanks for coming along to Calais yesterday!  Thankful I had the time for that, and for the last hours of the weekend today (the working hours tonight do not count).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.