madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Old Things

I've been listing clothes on ebay and Vinted as advised by mambo. She was right! Things are selling much better on there and even if not selling are being seen and  being saved as peoples favourites! I think perhaps ebay is just too vast as many of my items have had no views whatsoever! I must admit to being amazed at how cheaply people are listing items - for just a few pounds - I have to wonder if the effort to post the items and then send them is worth a few pounds - why not just give them to charity? I also like the fact there is a fixed price - it eliminates the greed of the seller hoping to get a sell above what the item is worth. Then again I guess an item is perhaps worth what the buyer  believes it to be for them. However I do dislike people sending me messages asking if I will sell an item for less - No! I believe I set what is a reasonable price given they are second hand but in near perfect condition and from the  high end  brands. I don't state "make me an offer" and object to people making them! It feels rude to "decline" such offers but on the other hand I  find the offers offensive! Well not as extreme as offensive perhaps - just irritating! 
The only problem is that I keep seeing items I like at ludicrous prices and I can't resist! The money I earn was supposed to fund Oscars dog walking fees not swell my wardrobe once more! 
I am finding the world of delivery services quite amazing - Royal mail, Yodel and Evri - all in 3 different locations to me but all involving QR codes which you simply scan into the machines with your mobile phone! How easy is that! 
I have also listed school items on my facebook Calstock Buy, sell, swap or free page. Currently it's halloween stuff! But I have so much more to list! It will be masks and costumes next - for trick or treating or Xmas plays! I have many masks including a a Shrek mask and hands, Bart Simpson, monkey and  Greek,Egyptian, Astronaut and pirate costumes! Ah they all bring back lovely memories!
My next place of selling will hopefully be a Designer Shop in Tavistock for my designer clothes! Ghost, Paul Smith, Nicole Farhi, amongst others! Whilst the commission is high at 50%, if she accepts my clothes I know she will sell them at a price I don't expect I'd get online so it should work out ok. What amazes me is that Tavistock has a designer shop. That there are people who have Chanel, Burberry etc to sell, and that there are people willing to still pay for them in such hard economic times. Maybe that explains why people are selling them. Also maybe people who can afford these brands wear them once or twice and then consider them unwearable in their society again! Perhaps people buy them for a special occasion like a wedding, birthday, anniversary, graduation, and then never wear them again. I must admit I don't have this issue - I was never knowingly underdressed! I like clothes, the more unusual the better, I go for style not what is fashionable, and  I would wear them to village events even if others were wearing jeans! Of course now I don't attend events and even if I did my more fancy clothes no longer fit me hence the selling! I'm sad  to have to relinquish them - but they deserve to have a new life of being worn by others - they are too beautiful to simply hang in my attic come live in wardrobe! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.