Sunrise over Syria

By kinguspl

Floor-level top-notch hospitality

I may be new to humanitarian relief but I've been part of development sector for a while now. And part of my heart will always be in Afghanistan (AF). This is why I can't stop comparing Syria to AF (which, I'm afraid, you'll have a chance to experience on may occasions here).

Fooood! Part of hospitality. Big hearts in both countries and very similar "tables". Actually meals are eaten on the floor (and with hands). Same menu in both countries: meat, rice and tomato& cucumber salad and of course bread. I'll beck to bread on other occasion(s). Just to mention now that Syrian breads are actually different from the one I remember from AF - much bigger and thinner.

Any of such meals is male-only. Women eat (and live) separately. However, as a foreign female guest, I always eat with men, even during a weeding party. Hair-covered, of course.

(Sorry, a photo is a bit shaken but I'm still not sure when taking a pic is OK and when not welcomed so was very fast with this one)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.