Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

Another overcast morning, but no rain. There were 4 Heron met me on the slope (there was actually 5 in total today). The little female (pictured), the nervy male, the middle male and the adult male. I was half way through feeding them when a spaniel came running down and chased them all. They flew across to the path at the foot of the loch and landed there. I continued feeding them until a jogger ran through them and they were off again. I made my way round the loch and found the adult male in his hiding place. I gave him a bit more then made my way to the clearing. The adult male followed me and was joined by the middle male, the nervy male and the chick (the little female had a lot to eat and rarely ventures to the clearing unless there is a lot of noise at the foot of the loch). I finished feeding them and made my way home feeding the crows as I went down the road,
It gets difficult at this time as the heron don't appear until it starts getting lighter and the window is very short , at that time before the park gets busy. The Heron  however are happy to head to the water's edge at the quiet end of the loch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.