My Attempts

By Bernydoll

Lynn Chadwick at Abbott Hall Gallery

My daughter and I finished up our wee mini break in the Lake District with a visit to Abbot Hall Gallery and Museum.This exhibition was brilliant, we both really like these sculptures. Afterwards I had to drive home in time for the last choir practise of the season, finishing with a nice wee soiree, food, drink and chat. It was quite good getting to chat to other people, I usually only speak to my fellow altos.

(Lynn Chadwick (1914-2003) was one of the most important British sculptors of the twentieth century, rising to prominence in the 1950s as part of the New Aspects of British Sculpture exhibition at the Venice Biennale in 1952 and winning the International Prize at the Biennale four years later. Having trained as an architect, Chadwick brought an innovative approach to the construction of his sculptures, working with welded metal and stolit (a hard-setting plaster and iron compound) to create dramatic and distinctive forms underpinned by a brilliant sense of design.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.