St. James Street, Derby

Beck and I were in Derby this afternoon to sign some papers, St. James Street being the not completely salubrious home of the Leek United Building Society's nearest branch to Nottingham. We're (hopefully!) moving house in a couple of weeks and I'd forgotten quite how many annoying little jobs the process entailed (possibly because the last time I did it was 13 years ago, or possibly because Beck did everything then.) We're not going far - just up the hill to an impressive but probably innappropriately-appointed Victorian pile. We couldn't resist. I discovered the other day that it was probably built (or at least initially owned) by Messrs Darker and Grim (and this was for real and on the documents, no just in my feverish, LemonySnicket imagination.) Not sure what kind of an omen that is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.