springlilly

By springlilly

Alarming!

It was quite alarming at first, seeing some rescue personnel in the fast flowing river & a group of onlookers at Lover's Retreat in Omagh, where I was walking this afternoon. Luckily it was a NI Rescue training event in the river in full spate. 

Almost 50 years ago, 2 brothers lost their lives, trying to save a 15 year old girl who was drowning. All 3 drowned, I still remember the shock & devastation in the community. Indeed the mother of the 2 brothers (aged 23 & 25), her only children, devoted her life afterwards to teaching driving lessons. I was one of those lucky enough to have her as my driving instructor, she didn't charge the full commercial rate, making lessons affordable for me & many others. She was such a lovely gentle lady, with a broken heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.