Quiet day in, sorting stuff out, so a boring Blip of the mixed hi-fi system.

From the top, and the only bit bought new (a while ago), a DAB radio. I listen to a lot of radio. Despite having only a single speaker (i.e. being mono), like all DAB radio's, it receives stereo. Therefore it's permanently connect to give stereo via the amp.

Middle - ancient Rotel amp (circa 1973) that I was given back in 1988, when the owner decided to buy something newer. Gained the speakers too. Has all worked flawlessly. I don't abuse it, or upset the neighbours...

Bottom - old CD-player received from my brother in about 1990. He'd said it would periodically jump, and since marrying, his wife had one that worked better. I still insisted he take something for it. Just as well, first thing I did, was to read the manual. "Ensure to remove the transit screw, prior to use." Not doing so could certainly cause it to jump, with just the slightest provocation. I phoned him to ask if he'd removed it. The ensuing pause gave the answer before he did. We still laugh about it...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.