Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Construction

I drive past this busy intersection several times in some weeks, this being one of them. The large corner site at the bottom of Fountaingrove facing the freeway used to have a restaurant called Equus which nobody ever went to. Perhaps it was connected to a conference center and hotel a little further up the hill. It all burned down in the Tubbs fire. 

This was where the fire jumped freeway and went on to burn the entire large subdivision of Coffey Park.  The houses there have almost all been rebuilt. Coffey Park was a closely connected neighborhood and they all worked closely together to get their homes rebuilt. It was an impressive display of cooperation especially since their homes were all in ruins and the residents had scattered all over the place.

Three phases of large apartment buildings are being built across the street. Phase one is finished and they have broken ground for Phase two. People who lived in the large mobile home site, unfortunately named Journey's End, were given preference in the new building but in the six years that have elapsed, I think most of them have found someplace else to live. Many of them were people who didn't have a lot of options, and even 'affordable' housing probably wasn't one of them.

I had a routine appointment with my doctor where I was the lucky recipient of yet another vaccination... not RSV which she said I didn't need but pneumonia. Then I had to go to the lab where I got poked again. All this in addition to stabbing myself in the thumb with my sewing machine needle. I'm beginning to feel like a pincushion and I have one more to go on Thursday, a cortisone shot in my knee. All in all, I'll be happy when this week is over.

Our good weather is about to turn into winter and it will be much colder tomorrow although no rain is predicted.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.