CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Local Newent apples and pears at the farm shop

Ashley texted me to come to the farm shop today to restock the cards they have sold. He wasn't there at the time but I chatted with Tina who works in both the shop and planting up their many seeds for eventual sale as plantlets. I took the remaining stock home and will come back tomorrow with a fresh array of cards.

After Tina had served a customer I quickly took the opportunity of
recording the array of local varieties of apples, pears and quinces they sell from a local fruit farm near Newent in Gloucestershire. I love the names – Wellant, Snittey, Ashmead Colonel and Papples., with of course the more common Cox and Royal Gala on offer too. I think the Papple is a hybrid of an apple and pear.

Minimal plastic bagging in sight. I love to see a crate of apples straight from the orchard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.