PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Three

This was the first time we have been to Hastings and I do realise, as those who know the town will hasten to say, we found three highlights of the place and managed to avoid the ‘seaside/amusements/down at heel’ bits. 

We were heading for Hastings Contemporary gallery where I knew there was an exhibition which I just had to see - Sir Quentin Blake: Ink. As everyone knows, I have been a huge Quentin Blake fan ever since I shared Mr Magnolia (I still maintain that this is the very best children’s book of all time) with my very young daughters. So, how could I not go and see this exhibition - new drawings using ‘a scratchy pen and a bottle of black ink’. Quite splendid - here is a small selection from High Places and Lofty Structures (far far better seen large) and I have added an extra from a series VTT - les velos tout terrain. I was mesmerised by the whole lot. (The second extra is for Elizabeth/emhowl)

The gallery is very impressive. It is down by Fisherman’s Beach and the view from the cafe over all the fishing detritus to the boats and the sea is wonderful (excellent cakes too!) (See third extra) 

Close by is Maggie’s Fish and Chip Restaurant, which was why Gordon wanted to come to Hastings. Fish straight from the boats, cooked to order, no wonder it is famous and popular. Excellent. 

Then we caught a bus along the front and found Hastings Bookshop. What a lovely little bookshop. I had an interesting conversation with the owner and a guy from Hastings Radio about the Booker Shortlist. Books were bought.

Bus again and that’s when we decided on coffee and cake before setting off back. Sad that we couldn’t buy from the many fresh fish stalls, but we are homeward bound tomorrow and didn’t think it was a good idea to carry fish with us. We did buy some smoked salmon though. 

A great last day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.