BoydMcAdam

By BoydMcAdam

Conan Doyle

My wife had an early morning appointment. While I waited I walked around (the Cameron Toll Shopping Centre car park) and came to this 18th century cottage.

Its formal name is Liberton Bank house but is better known for the fact that it is where Sir Arthur Conan Doyle lived for some years as a child. The signs are that in addition to the gates (which have at the bottom left the quote “Education never ends, Watson”) and the nearby medical practice I go to being named after the author, there is a large wooden sculpture (of the Hound of the Baskervilles in the garden. I’ve photographed that previously.

The gate in itself has some great design work n symbols of education. The building itself had fallen into disrepair for many years until it was restored a decade or so ago.

Much of the day was spent in a bit of frustration trying to create space on my laptop as the disk had become full. Possibly because I have been copying and sorting photos for my talk. All resolved by mid-evening but feels a bit like a wasted day.

Not for our daughter in law in Lancaster who passed her viva this afternoon. Dr McAdam-Musk now! Many congratulations!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.