rower2012

By rower2012

The dry Rio Grande

This is my last day in Albuquerque and so I felt that is was time to do the walk to the Rio Grande and then walk along the bosque trail that follows the river bank. I was in for a shock. The Rio Grande looks significantly different today than it did when I last saw it in 2019. It now looks like a huge and long beach - or a giant sandbar extending as far as I could see.

I saw a cyclist wheeling his bike across the sandbar because the sand was too soft and deep for him to ride safely. In the far distance I could see a thin sliver of water on the far side of the river. 2 people appeared to be standing in knee-deep water.
The hike along the trail was still as good as ever and I look forward to coming back again next year. Tomorrow it is on to the next city.

In the Extras, see more views including the Bosque.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.