ExtraDays

By ExtraDays

Can You Believe?!

This is my very first airline ticket, a round-trip from Oakland to Portland for Christmas in 1967. The amazing part isn't the cost: a total of $74.55, it isn't even the fact that I got dressed up for the flight (the complete opposite of what we do now for flying),  the amazing part is that I went into the United Airlines ticket office in downtown Oakland to buy the ticket. I sat at a ticket agent's desk, she typed out the ticket, checked things off in a ledger, maybe made a phone call, I don't recall - but she spent a lot of time on me and my one measly ticket right before Christmas. She stapled the return flight to the first ticket and slipped them into an envelope, along with answers to the many questions I had about where to go and what to do. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.