Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Monday: Shaken, Not Stirred

Today it was literally a case of shaken.  

My onward destination, following yesterday’s overnighter in Miami, was to Kingston, Jamaica.  As I was waiting to board my flight, we got news that there had been a 5.2 earthquake in Jamaica, with the epicentre close to Kingston.  The flight was a bit delayed as they had to check the runway in Kingston was safe to land - they decided it was but then we were further delayed due to some technical issues.

In the end, I landed a couple of hours late at 4pm.  I’m meeting some colleagues here for a regional meeting so this evening we headed over to my colleague’s house for dinner.  It’s been nice to see everyone.

I have to manage expectations regarding photos while I’m here.  Kingston is not a city to walk around and the only bit we are allowed to walk, on security advice, is the 1 minute from the hotel to the office.  So I don’t think you’re going to see much of the city.  

But the Triumph Sunbeam outside the hotel is pretty cool.  It’s not the car used in ‘Dr No’ but it’s the same year and make, so pretty close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.