A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

The final moments of Kerrang 105.2

Pulled up beside the A47 near Hinckley to hear the final minutes of easily the finest music station ever to grace the FM airways in the Midlands.

After nine years and four days of Kerrang in the West Midlands, today, at 2pm 105.2 was switched to Planet Rock.

Can't quite figure out why I'm finding this, on the face of it, quite trivial matter so sad... I put it down to this station being the soundtrack to so many good and happy times in my life. While at the same time it also served me on sorrowful journeys in 2005 when two of my Grandparents were very very poorly, somehow always playing the right song for the moment.

With the stations FM demise, these memories good and bad and of the people and times recalled are just that little bit further out of reach...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.