Craig's Journal

By CraigD

Grey Heron

Since spotting the Heron on the tenement roof, I tend to take my camera out my bag before I reach the park entrance. This morning a man coming towards me spotted the camera and very excitedly said to me "If you are quick you will get a great picture of a heron! It is right at the entrance to the Park! but be quick before it takes off!" I more casually replied "Oh it's ok it is waiting for me to feed it". He replied "Seriously there really is one there just behind that silver car parked outside! " I think he thought I was disbelieving him so I thanked him and said I would try and get a shot. Once inside I spotted the mid male and the other female then from the dovecote came the little female! 
I started feeding the 3 of them and spotted the adult male trying to get near but he was chased. I had brought him his own separate share so once I finished with the other 3 I made my way to the clearing where the male was waiting. I started feeding him when I heard the slight grunting noise they make (I think it is 2 mandibles of their beak rapidly but gently clicking). I turned round and saw the chick (getting bigger but still a bit more grey than the others). I split the male's share with her then headed for home. The crows as usual got their biscuits! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.