Look Out

By chrisf

Echinops/Globe Thistle

It looked as if it was going to be a dry morning, so time to get out into the garden to start the process of cutting back and closing the garden down for the winter. My plan was foiled after an hour or so by the arrival of heavy rain (again), but I did get two bin bags filled.

Our garden is relatively small, with no room for composting although it produces a lot of green waste at the end of the season, so I am reliant on the green waste service. Unfortunately no bins of any sort have been emptied since the end of September due to strike action, so everyone has to store everything at home, or take it direct the the recycling centre - which is why I’ve delayed the process of putting the garden to bed. It will wait no longer, so November is going to see me taking bags of green waste across to the recycling centre throughout the month on a regular basis when I can find time for the cutting back.

Main blip - the Echinops has thrown up globes of tight flower buds which I did not expect to flower at this time of year. I was wrong.

Extra - a montage of invertebrates. Our two Salvia Amistads have been great for pollinators, and are still bringing one or two in. And an orb spider has decided to hunker down on the hinge of the green bin - my opening the lid was not welcomed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.