This day

By snapper

Me & my shadow!

Today I tried to get holiday  insurance! honestly you would have thought I was planning some major heist!I got some morose Irish wuman who had not an ounce of humour about her. Can I have your post code she drawlled, it took 6 attempts to get her to write my post code down right.
She couldn't understand me and I couldn''t understand her!
She kept on having big pauses after each section was filled in, I thought she had either expired or had gone for her lunch!
Then she asked me a real thumper  " what undiagnosed illnesses do you have" i said what is an undiagnosed illnes,s surley most illness you know about are diagnosed, her reply " I will ask you again" and she rattled off the same question. Again I said do you mean diagnosed she said no I mean UNDIAGNOSED. This roundabout conversation went on for I kid you not, 15 minutes by which time I had driven to my mates house and pleaded with her to help me as this wuman was driving me to distraction! Even my pal , a lawyer was perplexed. The Irish wuman finally said "just give me a yes no answer"  I went for no and we finally got over that hurdle. Not for long though" do you take blood pressure pills?"  Yes I sighed, "how many " 1 I loudly muttered,'let me finish madam" do you take 1, 2 3 or more, I was thinking by this time I might just consume the entire box as Im sure my blood pressure must have been sky high by now!
What undiagnosed health issues does your husband have, NONE I screamed down the bloody phone! He takes 1 BP pill, 1 bloody blood thinner, " let me finish" says she and off she goes, 1, 2 3 or more!
" you can chose to insure your luggage for 1000, 2000 or 3 thousand pounds" What, Im carrying a microscopic case with 5 pairs of socks , 5 pairs of knickers a shirt and trousers its not even worth 100 quid. " we only have allowances of 1000 , yada yada yada" 
One hour and twenty minutes later she said if its on a single journey it will cost you £400 if its for multiple journeys its £900 What I squeaked in shock "let me finish " " you can go on 5 trips but your husband can only go on 3" by this time I was thinking he would be going on no bloody trip!!!
I will think about it said I. I wasnt going to pay what my holiday cost for insurance. I don't normally even get holiday insurance, I only did so this time because the kids bullied me into it!
Anyhow later on I got a decent quote from the Post Office.
What an ordeal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.