IainatCreel

By IainatCreel

Meantime in the Carehome.....

Panto rehearsals are in full swing.  They have started in my Mum's carehome.  When l had settled my Mum asked me if l had received the letter about the divorce.  When l looked nonplussed she said 'lain, don't be so bloody stupid, we've already been through this before'.  Verbatim.  After about five minutes of 'light banter' there was a knock on the door.  I opened the door to reveal Ann from two doors down.  Ann  is quite a peaceful soul who says little.  She politely asked if she could come in.  I sought my Mum's instructions and in she came. She sat down and went straight to sleep.  Then Hercules (the home's cat) came for a feed of munchies, on a plate in my Mum's room.  Ann suddenly woke and complained she felt cold.  She started to put on a cardigan of my Mum's off the dresser.  My Mum really shouted at Ann (it was heard in Wigtown) that it would be way too small.  Meantime another knock on the door and in came the Home Maintenance Man (who does an excellent job) and a plumber.  They went into my Mum's bathroom to diagnose a problem with the WC.  Meantime, as my Mum continued belting it out, and Ann had successfully got my Mum's cardigan on, Hercules knocked over a vase of flowers I'd just filled with water.  As the men left my Mum said to Ann 'We'll have to go back to your house'.  Before l could intervene they both grabbed their zimmers and set off.  I mopped up the water and went to Ann's room.  I found them sitting side by side on the bed really struggling to get my Mum's cardigan off Ann's back.  I had to assist.  Ann then asked me take a cardigan out of her own wardrobe.  It wasn't easy getting it on her, partly because my Mum was trying to help.  I couldn't help noticing her size was 18 and my Mum's is 8.  Despite them both being knackered (my Mum with the shouting) they both decided they wanted a cup of tea and a bun.  I indicated l would make them one if they went along to the day room.  Fully zimmered again, they left the room.  Ann went right, my Mum left.  Ann had her tea and bun in the Day Room, my mother on a bonquette outside her room.  (BTW after having not taken sugar since 1939 she's now on two spoons).  The Current Mrs Creel arrived and couldn't understand why l was exhausted.  My mother then chose to mention the divorce letter again.  Lynda - a very good carer, suggested l apply for a job.  My reply would see Blip closed immediately.  I hope you all have a nice weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.