OMP

By OMP

Drone Fly

Sometimes called Flower Flies. They eat pollen and nectar and often are mistaken for bees. Note that this guy has one set of wings, a bee has two sets of wings.

Overcast and cooler than expected today. So, the insect population was hiding or at least camera shy. I had a hard time finding a little subject. Well, all except for the mosquitoes. Yep, they are still out in full force. This morning I was looking out the window at the view... as I focused my eyes closer I realized that there were at least 2o of those blood suckers bouncing off the window! It was like they were trying to get in... *sigh*

Anyway, I gooped up and swatted as I shot a few images. A short but productive photo session. It's easier to see the detail in this one if you go large. I also liked one of a hover fly and this one of a clematis flower with a mystery bug.

Next up, a movie that we rented. :) I love movie night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.