Appreciate

By Appreciate

Lion Rock

Lion Rock - Cumbrae.
Houllan Keipel Dyke or lion rock as it is now known was supposedly made by the bad elves. According to a traditional rhyme the good elves were making a bridge to the mainland at Deil's dyke and so the bad elves decided to copy them. When they eventually realised that they couldn't manage, in frustration they kicked the holes now seen in the bottom of the rock making the shape we now know as lion rock. The shape of the lion is apparently frightening to elves and this is why to this day you never see elves on the East of the island, only on the Fintry bay side.

Had a very wet Millport experience today checking out accommodation. It seems Millport was built in 1900 or before and is now mostly flatted. Gardens and "wash houses" (bike storage!) are communal. Home reports are rubbish...I viewed a property with all 1's and found a blown double glazed window, damp lintels and a floorboard missing tin the kitchen - though cleverly covered with lino! I am thankfully the daughter of a surveyor! I can smell dampness a mile off and dry rot makes me sneeze! However, I suspect these attributes are not gong to help me find my ideal house...I found one with a fantastic bay window and gorgeous view. I would have to be prepared to make big compromises to consider it...

Had a splendid evening with friends, a surprising sunset given the day and a very late night - all great fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.