Madness Follows

By Debz

Not Uncommon

I spent approx 50% of my second pregnancy medicated for depression. Everyone has heard of POSTnatal depression but few people are aware that ANTEnatal depression is a condition that is more than just 'hormones playing up'. Pre-medication I was spending as much as 9 hours a day crying, I didn't want to get out of bed, in fact, I would try and convince my then two year old that watching DVDs in Mummy's bed all day was great fun. I knew this was wrong. I knew it was more than should be expected from hormones wreaking havoc. I took action and discussed medication. Some may judge that choice as irresponsible and putting my unborn baby at risk. Me? I feel I made the best choice for both of us. He didn't arrive addicted to drugs, I was able to spend less time feeling miserable (mentally at least, I still had the severe sickness to deal with), and more time enjoying the last solo-days with my firstborn.
I thought I was alone in my suffering of antenatal depression. Turns out, I wasn't as rare a case as I imagined.


*photo of article in a respected Midwifery Journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.