fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

A Certain Ratio at The Ferret

There are some bands that I just don't get. For example, I would be happy to find just one Manic Street Preachers album that I could enjoy. When people whose taste I respect rave about them, I feel a bit left out.

Then there are bands that I kind of get, but they just don’t click with me. My good friends and erstwhile bandmates John and Ash love both the Super Furry Animals and A Certain Ratio, and I can see why, but I always seem to have other stuff to listen to.

However, this evening A Certain Ratio were playing The Ferret in Preston, which I couldn't quite believe when the Minx first noticed it. But it was true and so that is where we were this evening, enjoying ACR playing two chronological sets from their back catalogue.

And it was very good. The musicians are all great, including the two young women who have taken on roles in the band alongside the older and more established players.

If I'm honest, I don't think I would have enjoyed it anywhere near as much is a larger venue, but this evening, in The Ferret, it was just great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.