DepressedDiva

By DepressedDiva

Mummy

16.5.63 - 06.11.08

Fifteen years ago today my mum lost her battle with cancer. It’s scary how quickly the time went by. It now means that my youngest brother has lived more of his life without her than he lived with her. That fact breaks my heart.

I always get a little nostalgic on this day. It’s a difficult one for me because my relationship with my mother was complicated. Hindsight is a great thing, and cancer changed her so we were getting closer.

I gave up my masters course and moved 300 miles away, pregnant to look after her. I had a very understanding husband although I was made to come home at 37 weeks pregnant because he wasn’t having a Scottish daughter!

This photo is the first time my mum met the teenager. She travelled down from Coventry as soon as her chemo had finished for the day and we travelled up. That was the only time I have ever seen my mum run! She was that desperate to see her and hold her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.