One click at a time

By KeithKnight

June Challenge - Quiet

Day 16 of TerriG's June daily challenge - Quiet

Slowly, over the last 100,000 miles or so the gearbox on my car has been getting noisier. It is now getting to the point where I don't use it for long journeys, and also its final demise is getting closer. Since the cost of a reconditioned unit fully fitted is at least 3 times the value of the car, once it does go then it will be farewell to the car. I can't complain, it has done just short of 233,000 miles, passed the last 2 MOTs without any problems (or a service beforehand), and the engine still doesn't need the oil topping up between services. I've done 150,000 of those miles, and as it cost me £2,000 in the first place that's pretty cheap motoring.

So what does a noisy car have to do with today's theme of quiet?

Well, it's time to look for a replacement (although I will be keeping the old one for my son to use as a runabout), and a very quick look it was. Having looked at what was around I had a shortlist of 2 or 3 different types I was going for - the spec was simple, small for easy parking in London, cheap for insurance (having a 20 year old who's just past his test makes that a definite requirement), 4/5 doors, and preferably diesel (longer engine life - as evidenced by the old car!).

I found a car advertised at a local dealer, had a quick look yesterday, went back today with my son to make sure that we both fitted in it (he's an inch taller than me, but all leg and short body, I'm all body and short legs). A short test drive, and it drives nicely (and it's QUIET - at least compared to the present car!) What is it? - you'll have to wait and see!

Bonus points to anyone who can spot my reflection in the blip (except for John Gravett unless he manages it in under 2 seconds!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.