michigan man

By outdoorguy

Dougie Has Left Us

My walking/hiking buddy Doug's funeral was today. He died last Thursday.

I did get away with calling him Dougie, but when I did he called me Timmy. When I called him Douglas, he called me Timlas.

We had a good run as walking partners with some good training and 3 different hiking trips, 2 at Pictured Rocks in Michigan and 1 on the Appalachian Trail in North Carolina/Tennessee. 

When you break down our 3 trips, all three were close to disasters, and the one down south was downright scary. But, it's amazing how even disasters turn into good memories.

He was a good friend and in all our time together, we got quite close. He ended up being bedridden at the end, and for someone who had a VERY active life, that was hard to witness.

He is pictured at his wedding with his bride Diane. They were married for 57 years.

A sad day. A 5 kleenex funeral for me. I will miss my friend, a true giver and a true servant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.