Igor

By Igor

It’s a bit of a bug ....

Woke up at the beginning of the week sniffing and coughing …. Covid? Man-Flu?  Covid test is negative.

It doesn’t get any better over the next few days.  Quite the opposite.  
Anniemay suggests I ring the surgery to get an appointment to see a doctor.  After we both stop laughing, I try the on-line triage system.

I fill in the boxes, describing the symptoms in less than 500 words and hit the send button.  A pop-up message informs me that someone will reply within 2 days.

I’m downstairs making a cup of tea when the phone rings - upstairs.  It’s been 10 minutes.

It’s my GP, full of concern. He doesn’t need a stethoscope to listen to my chest - the phone is more than enough to amplify the wheezing and gasping.  I explain that I’ve just “run” upstairs to answer the phone.  “Even so” he says……. 

He prescribes a course of antibiotics to see if that helps.  “I’ll mark it urgent - give it a couple of hours before collecting.  And let me know if it doesn’t”.  

A couple of hours later, Anniemay walks round to the chemist - and there it is.  I’m impressed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.