still trucking...

By johnsmiley1321

Big Brother is Watching You

These are the cameras in the truck. 6 that look outside and one that look at me in the drivers chair. A few cameras read the signs in real time going down the road, a few make sure I keep it between the lines, some along with the forward radar on the bumper make sure I slow down for bad weather, that I am not tailgating and that I am not about to rear end someone - auto braking that works about 95% of the time - right.

The green light means it is recording in a 15 second loop
If the light was blue - it would be in standby mode
If the light is off then the camera is off - except if the door opens or the truck is hit - then it will automatically take a series of photographs of the person getting in the truck - and what is going on 180 degrees in front of the truck.

Now if the cameras light goes red then it will keep the previous 15 seconds and record the next 15 seconds before the video is automatically uploaded to the safety department at which time...

If there was a glitch, then the video is ignored - like backing under a trailer a little harder than needed (it thinks you crashed)

If the system did something stupid like stop the truck for no reason - then the video will be ignored

The outward facing cameras will trigger a video if I am tailgating, driving over the speed limit, can't maintain my lane, take a corner to fast, spin the wheels (slick roads / jack rabbit starts wasting fuel) and..

The inward camera will trigger a video if I don't use my seat belt, eat or drink while driving, use any electronic device while driving - including changing the radio station - using the radio - instead of the dial on the steering wheel and....

They say this is all for safety and to prevent frivolous lawsuits - against the company AND driver - I can see that but with a 29 year safe driving record I will say you can not un-teach stupidity - so far the videos have saved the company million of dollars, convicted and acquitted drivers of doing wrong / right and...    as yes, most of those convictions, the driver was doing something stupid...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.