For the family

By RonaMac

Another trip to London

These days are always eventful, starting today with a train delay between Uttoxeter and Derby. We had 2 minutes to change trains and platforms in Derby, so I was in the mini mob running up and down the steps and scrabbling onto the train heading for St P. I got my reserved seat, no problem, but the announcement that there was no refreshments trolley due to industrial action was most unwelcome.  

I met up with A. Lunch was at the Italian restaurant that I visited recently with other former work colleagues. Another delightful meal and lots of chat. A visited us with the children during the summer, so today’s update was all the info that we couldn’t discuss at that time. 

We then headed for Word on Water, a book store on a barge on the Grand Union canal at the back of Kings Cross. A fascinating place which was surprisingly busy. Max is an avid reader so A was on the hunt for unusual books for him. This is an area that I’m not familiar with although I’ve spent loads of time in adjacent roads. I treated myself to  book that I bought and read about 30 yrs ago. Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow. I cannot remember the story but it has positive vibes. Having got rid of about 70% of our books when we moved, I feel that I can do some restocking. 

The return journey was easy, plenty of seats to Derby, but still no refreshment trolley. I’d bought a coffee before alighting so was Ok. The Derby …..Uttoxeter leg was chockablock, but I got a seat. 

My car was at the station so it was a quick trip home via the chippy for supper for S and for B & I to share. I dropped off S’s parcel and collected Olive, she will stay for a couple of days.

I attached some pics from the day in extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.