Return to the North

By Viking

For Reg

I received the news this morning that my father-in-law (ex) had died after a 2 year battle with pancreatic cancer. When he was diagnosed with it nearly 2 years ago he said he didn’t want treatment. Usually pancreatic cancer takes you pretty quickly but the stubborn old coot carried on regardless! Immediately after diagnosis and terminal prognosis he organised and paid for a cremation only ‘funeral’ i.e. no funeral at all, and so it will be!

It’s strange really because he was technically my father in law for 5 years and been my ex father in law for 30 but I was still quite upset this morning when I heard and have thought about him on and off all day.

He could be a difficult man but there was never any doubt that he also loved. He looked after his wife for many years before her death and was soft as a brush with his only granddaughter. I also admire how he lived the last two years on his terms. He died at home, peacefully in the end, with his daughter by his side.

I wanted a plant to commemorate his passing. Not much around at this time of year but sis got this cyclamen for me until I can get a shrub of some sort to mark his passing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.