Toots in Solitude

By Toots

Big Day

I hung around nervously until the appointed time to drive to N.Berwick and say goodbye to my dear, dear car which was in fact dying on me with a repair bill that would not have been worth the keeping of her.
When all the paper work was accomplished and Howard drove my new to me car I suddenly remembered I should take a last photo of her for Blip. Camera battery failure told me it wasn't meant to be and off I went to learn how to drive an automatic. Howard was a very good teacher and when he stopped on a country lane and asked if I'd like to 'have a go' I most avidly declined with shaking knees and a churned stomach that had been with me all night in trepidation.
Of course, in N. Berwick it was gale force winds and driving rain and at 2o'clock it was certainly looking very dark.
Back at the garage I told Howard not to watch me set off and thanked him for everything.
Very, very gingerly did I get that car going to the roundabout and along the road, wipers going 50 to the dozen. I knew I had to get all the way to Donald and then onwards to Edinburgh. 
Anyway, I'm here to tell the tale, boring as it may be. I am an excessively anxious person.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.