Theleens

By Theleens

The Day Before The Longest Day

So there I was, enjoying a glass of wine in the Fez with the lovely Rebecca, when I received a text from Henry about doing a show with Richard...in three days time. Clearly I/we jumped at the chance. Then it dawned on me, the 2oth is my birthday. What a great way to celebrate: singing.

So, once Richard and I talked in the morning we put together something, I printed it out, took a pic (blip) and proceeded to Facebook it, Twitter it and email it. It's not ideal to do a show last minute but it's kind of a buzz at the same time, you know, the challenge of getting people to come and see you.

A busy lunchtime was spent doing all the communication stuff so that all I had to do when I got home was to practice. Well, perhaps putting a bathroom towel holder together, doing housework and tidying the place for my friend C coming to stay tomorrow night, was also on the checklist.

I am so looking forward to debuting (is that a word?) a new song Soul Lover. The melody has been around for a good while, the song has already been produced in the studio, but as yet I couldn't find the right words. 'A time and a place' as they say. The time was last weekend and the place was a mindset willing to try something different.

So, more practice Thursday morning, in the studio Thursday afternoon, the show in the evening and hopefully a decent rendition of the Soul Lover.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.